Quick answer
The listing offers a used Blackmagic Design DeckLink Studio 4K at condition grade A, a PCIe card with 2x HDMI input, 2x HDMI output and 2x BNC SDI input, 4K UHD resolution, and power draw up to 25W via the PCIe slot. It is a 2014 card, so the decision hinges on whether you can test it in a host and whether your workflow needs a card rather than a standalone switcher. Ask for availability and a quote for this specific unit through the product page.
Key takeaways
1. This is a PCIe card, not a standalone switcher, so it needs a host with a compatible slot and drivers.
2. Grade A means the unit is cosmetically and functionally graded, but the listing does not disclose test results or service history.
3. The I/O set is fixed: 2x HDMI in, 2x HDMI out, 2x BNC SDI in, with no network or display outputs on the card itself.
4. Year of manufacture 2014 means driver and OS compatibility must be confirmed before purchase.
What the listing data says
The listing identifies the unit as a Blackmagic Design DeckLink Studio 4K in the video-switchers category, condition grade A. The specifications on the listing state 2x HDMI input, 2x HDMI output, 2x BNC SDI input, 4K UHD resolution, PCIe host interface, power via PCIe slot (max 25W), rack units 0 (PCIe card), standard PCIe half-length card dimensions, weight 0.1 kg, quantity available on request, and year of manufacture 2014.
Two implications stand out that a generic product page will not tell you. First, the 25W power ceiling and half-length card format mean this unit is designed to sit inside a host chassis and draw power from the slot; there is no external power input listed, so the host power supply and slot type must be confirmed before you buy. Second, the I/O count is modest for a 4K card: two HDMI inputs and two HDMI outputs plus two SDI inputs, with no SDI outputs listed. That combination suggests the card is aimed at capture and playback in a workstation rather than at live switching with multiple SDI outputs, so it will not replace a dedicated video switcher in a venue rack.
Grade A matters here because a PCIe card is only as good as its edge connector and slot fit. A grade A card should arrive without bent pins or damaged contacts, but the grade is a condition label, not a test report. The listing does not state whether the card was tested in a host, which OS or driver version was used, or whether the original bracket and accessories are included.
What the datasheet does not tell you
The listing leaves several decision-critical items as Unknown or Not disclosed. Serial history is not given, so you cannot trace whether the card came from a single owner or a rental fleet. Service records are not disclosed, so there is no evidence of prior repair or rework.
Actual hours of use are not stated, which matters for a card that may have run continuously in a broadcast or post-production environment. Test results are not provided, so you do not know whether the HDMI and SDI inputs lock to signal or whether the PCIe interface enumerates correctly in a host. Packaging and flight-case condition are not described, which affects shipping risk for a 0.1 kg card.
Price, warranty, lead time and MOQ are all Not disclosed in the materials, so you must request them.
These gaps matter because a 2014 PCIe card is sensitive to host compatibility. Without test results, you cannot assume the card works with your current OS or motherboard. Without serial history, you cannot judge whether the unit is a one-owner card or a pulled part from a decommissioned system. Without packaging details, you cannot plan for ESD-safe shipping. Each gap is a reason to ask questions before paying, not a reason to walk away automatically. Venues that need a self-contained signal path for a banquet event PA system should treat this card as a workstation component rather than a room-ready switcher, and plan a bench test in a compatible host before committing.
Who should not choose this
Do not choose this unit if you need a standalone video switcher for a venue, a church, or a rental rack. The listing describes a PCIe card with no rack units and no front-panel controls, so it cannot operate without a host computer. Do not choose it if you cannot bench-test a PCIe card in a compatible host before putting it into service; a grade A label does not replace a functional test. Buyers who decide a card-based workflow is too limiting can compare this unit with a used Matrox DSXLE4L listed as another video-switchers option before committing to a host build.
Do not choose it if you require a warranty, service history, or a known serial trail, because none of those are disclosed. Do not choose it if your workflow depends on SDI outputs, since the listing shows only SDI inputs. And do not choose it if you are buying for a room where the video signal path must be self-contained and operator-friendly without a PC.
Trade-offs to weigh
The main trade-off is cost versus verification effort. A used 2014 PCIe card can be a low-cost way to add 4K UHD capture and playback to an existing workstation, but the saving is only real if you can test it in a host and confirm driver support. If you cannot test it, you are buying an unknown, and the grade A label does not change that.
A second trade-off is I/O flexibility versus output count. The listing gives two HDMI inputs, two HDMI outputs and two SDI inputs, but no SDI outputs. For a system integrator building a capture station, that may be enough. For a rental company that needs to feed SDI routers and monitors, the lack of SDI outputs is a constraint that no grade can fix.
A third trade-off is physical format versus deployment. At 0.1 kg and half-length PCIe, the card is easy to ship and install, but it also means the host is the real system. You are not buying a box you can hand to a venue operator; you are buying a component that must live inside a tested PC. That shifts the risk from the card itself to the host compatibility and the driver stack. If the project also needs screens and signal routing beyond this card, browse the second hand video display range and confirm host compatibility before ordering.
Finally, the year of manufacture 2014 is a trade-off between maturity and compatibility. Older cards are often well understood, but driver support for newer operating systems may be limited. Confirm the supported OS and driver version before you commit, and treat the absence of that information in the listing as a question to ask.
Next step before you pay
Before paying, request the following from the seller: a photo of the card's edge connector and bracket, confirmation that the card enumerates in a host, the OS and driver version used for testing, whether the original accessories are included, and the packaging method for shipping. Ask for the serial number and any service history the seller can share. Confirm the price, warranty, lead time and MOQ, since none are stated in the listing. Buyers who decide a card-based workflow is too limiting can compare this unit with a used Matrox DSXLE4L listed as another video-switchers option before committing to a host build.
If you are buying multiple units, ask whether quantity is available on request and what the lead time is. Use the product page to ask for availability and a quote, and browse the video switchers category for comparable units. If you need a second-hand line array or other used pro audio for a project, you can also contact us with your full requirement.
FAQ
Is the Blackmagic Design DeckLink Studio 4K a standalone video switcher?
No. The listing describes a PCIe card with 0 rack units and a PCIe host interface, so it requires a host computer with a compatible slot.
What inputs and outputs does this used unit have?
The listing states 2x HDMI input, 2x HDMI output and 2x BNC SDI input. No SDI outputs are listed.
What does condition grade A mean for this card?
Grade A is a condition label. The listing does not include test results, service records or serial history, so functional status must be confirmed with the seller. If the project also needs screens and signal routing beyond this card, browse the second hand video display gear range and confirm host compatibility before ordering.
What is the year of manufacture and power requirement?
The listing states year of manufacture 2014 and power via PCIe slot (max 25W).
Are price, warranty and lead time included in the listing?
No. Price, warranty, lead time and MOQ are not disclosed in the materials; you must request them from the seller.
## Sources
OxGears listing for Blackmagic Design DeckLink Studio 4K: /products/blackmagic-design-decklink-studio-4k/
Manufacturer published specifications for Blackmagic Design DeckLink Studio 4K (no URL supplied).
Not sure this unit fits your rig? Talk to our technical team before you buy.